Customer reviews for HerbalEssences cleansing conditioner

HerbalEssences cleansing conditioner

Overall rating:
4.459 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(98 reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 98 reviews
5 Stars
76
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
4
1 Star
6
86 out of 98(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for cleansing conditioner
Review 1 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this stuff!

PostedAugust 26, 2015
fromRochester, NY, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
I've read about and been intrigued by cleansing conditioners, but they are so expensive I've never taken the plunge- seemed like a lot of $$ to find out they were just one more "your hair will be amazing" hype.
So imagine my excitement seeing this on the shelf at Target for under $6!
I am an everyday runner- so I get sweaty and gross every day in the summer -and washing my hair every day was killing it #I also color, and have curly coarse hair to start with! I'm doomed to frizz purgatory#
The smell on this product is amazing- pepperminty but not overpowering. I used 4 pumps, left on my hair 4 minutes and rinsed off. No conditioner afterwards...but my hair felt silky right away. Blew dry and styled- soft, bouncy, lots of body. Tried air drying another day- soft fully formed curls- NO FRIZZ.
I can't use it every day #I just need to wash the sweat out twice a week#- but I have been using this for 2 weeks now and I am in love. I may stock up in case they don't sell it for the rest of forever!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Overwhelming fragrance

PostedAugust 26, 2015
fromPittsburgh, PA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
You would think that something called "Naked" would imply fragrance free. At least that is what I though. Wrong. Not only fragranced but strongly fragranced. Overwhelming fragrance that cannot be rinsed out. Just lingers all day. Very disappointed.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed!

PostedAugust 22, 2015
fromCordelia, CA 94534, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
I used to use Wen, but it got to be too expensive. When I saw this I was so excited to try it. I have been using it for a few months and now have an itchy scalp and dandruff. I have never had dandruff before using this stuff. I have color treated hair and have red peek-a-boos that are super hard to keep from fading. I love how the cleasing conditioner doesn't make color fade as fast, but I get flakes. Having dark hair, the dandruff sticks out like a sore thumb so I guess I'll have to stop using this stuff. Really Bummed.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Herbal EssencesBy AmeliaConsumer RelationsAugust 28, 2015
Hello,

We're very sorry to learn this happened. While everyone is different, this isn't something we'd expect to happen. So we can learn more about this experience, please call us at 1-855-236-3353. Our agents are available M-F from 9AM to 6PM, EST. Make sure to mention this referral and they'll take great care of you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

EXTREAMLY DRY HAIR

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
very unsatisfied, my hair has never been so dry! all the other products I've used since I can remember, my mother use to buy them for me since I was six years old. had no issue none what's so ever till now. no change in my routine just this new product.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Herbal EssencesBy CorlissConsumer RelationsAugust 11, 2015
Hi!

I'm sorry this product didn't provide the results you expected. When using this product we do not recommend using it more than two consecutive days. After using it for two days, use your regular shampoo and conditioner on the third day. Follow these steps to get keep the moisturized hair flowing. I hope this helps!

Have a happy hair day!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is AWESOME!

PostedJuly 31, 2015
fromTexas, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
I have long curly hair. Using this product is the best thing I have done for my hair, ever! It leaves my hair soft, manageable, and it does not weigh it down.
Thank you!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is absolutely amazing!

PostedJuly 22, 2015
fromRaleigh, NC, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
I am 52 years old and have had long, curly hair for most of my life. Although I have tried many products, nothing has left my hair as manageable, curly and shiny as this product has! I have had complete strangers come up to me and ask me how I have gotten such beautiful curls.
Everything else I have tried has left a sticky, dark residue on my hair and has made it frizzy. After using this cleansing conditioner once, I once again have shiny, bouncy manageable curls. When I read on the site that it was free of dyes, parabens and sulfates----I was even more impressed with this amazing product.
I go out of my way to recommend this product to other people with curly hair. This has truly been a miracle product for me!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't stop playing with my hair!

PostedJuly 20, 2015
fromUtah, USA
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
I really am not one to write reviews on products but I just couldn't help doing so for this one. I seriously cannot stop playing with my hair. After one use it feels silky soft, and rich from root to tip. My hair was damaged from a bad flat iron and was left feeling damaged and overall just dry. Problem solved! For those wondering how well it actually cleans your hair, I can say it goes above and beyond. I had just gotten back from a three day camping trip when I decided to use this for the first time. I honestly thought I would have to wash my hair with my regular shampoo after trying out this product because it wouldn't do a great job. Nope! I was wrong, it cleaned and removed all the dirt without stripping my hair. I cannot stop talking about it. LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easily defeats the high $ brands!

PostedJuly 17, 2015
fromAustin, TX, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
I am in love with this product. I've tried both the expensive and infomercial advertised cleansing conditions and they don't stack up to this one. The minty scent is light and refreshing. My hair is wavy and color-treated so I have to be picky about my hair care products - I am beyond pleased. It is so popular that my local grocery regularly sells out of it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Please make more scents to choose from!!!

PostedJune 17, 2015
fromBuffalo, NY, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Love, love, love this! Hair is so light and soft! Please make more varieties to choose from!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!!!!

PostedMay 14, 2015
Age:35 to 44
Length of ownership:1 month
No, more dandruff for me!! Will keep using this!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

DO NOT STOP MAKING THIS

PostedApril 16, 2015
fromConnecticut, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
I have always had to wash my hair everyday. I have a lot of hair but it is very fine. I now can go 2 days without washing. This is absolutely amazing to me. It has been a couple weeks and I can tell if I need more or less pumps by feel.
My hair has lots more body. It feels soft(it kinda always did because of texture) Less fly a ways. Most shocking, Little to no hair in the drain.
The smell, like anything, is going to be different to everyone. I personally do not have any issues with it. In my area I have not seen the rose scented, I would like to try that.
HE, again Please do not stop making this ... and add more scents if possible. I don't usually write reviews. This stuff, I absolutely love and had to write one. Thank You HE.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Scent is nice, but VERY strong.

PostedMarch 30, 2015
fromMaryland, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
I don't mind the scent of this product at all, but it IS very strong. The hospital where I work has a no scent policy, and the scent on this cleansing conditioner is actually so strong that it violates that policy. I wish you'd come out with a "REALLY naked" product that does not contain any artificial scents!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow product!!

PostedMarch 23, 2015
fromSeattle WA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
I guess I'm not the only one loving this product! I used to use Wen but didn't like the price or the gunky residue that clogged the drain. I've been using this HE Cleansing Conditioner for a good solid six months now. It's fantastic! I have naturally curly hair that drove me nuts as a kid/teen. Wish this product had been around back then! It leaves my hair clean but without any residue or buildup, rinses like a dream, and leaves my hair in wonderful shape and not limp or flyaway. I am hooked!! If you are wasting your money on Wen, I really suggest you give this product a try -- your hair and pocketbook will thank you.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too Much Alcohol

PostedMarch 22, 2015
fromLake Worth FL
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
While I'm getting used to shampoo free cleaning, I'm not impressed with the INSANE amount of Alcohol used in the product. It's drying out and making my hair worse. It's dry enough as it is, but to use this and have that much alcohol upset the balance of my hair, you REALLY need to rethink your formula. I tried it and Won't be buying it again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Herbal EssencesBy AmeliaConsumer RelationsApril 2, 2015
Hello LadyE77,

It's true that the alcohols used in the Herbal Essences Naked Cleansing Conditioner are for added hydration. Still, I'm sorry if this is making your hair feel dry. It's not intended to moisturize the same way a traditional conditioner would, as it also contains cleansing agents. We value your review and appreciate the feedback.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this!

PostedMarch 18, 2015
fromMN
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
I have used Wen, but wanted to see if I could find a less expensive alternative. I found this and for way less money I have a product that I love even more than I liked Wed. It cleanses really well and makes my hair so soft. I don't love the scent though, too strong. I used this and then the next day used my regular shampoo/conditioner combo and could still smell this in my hair. Other than that, though, I love it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's a winner!

PostedMarch 14, 2015
fromCincinnati, OH, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
I have used WEN for a couple of years. Love the results but very expensive product. I have been in search of something comparable without much luck until I discovered this! I have the same results as I did with WEN but at a price that is more in line with my budget.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't stop touching my hair!

PostedMarch 8, 2015
fromMaryland, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
I was intrigued by Wen but never bought it because they use almond oil and I have nut allergies. I was also turned off by the price. While searching for an alternative, I came across reviews of this product and decided to give it a try. Wow! My color-treated, below shoulder length hair looks and feels amazing. I don't mind the scent, but I could see how it might bother others. My recommendation is to smell the product at the store before purchasing. Great job, HE!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unexpected, rare jewel of the haircare aisle!

PostedMarch 8, 2015
fromWinchester, KY 40391, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
I love this stuff! I bought it at sale price from walmart. I didn't have extremely high hopes but now I am addicted. I love the way it makes my hair feel and smell. My boyfriend even loves it for his beard! And he's a might picky person when it comes to beard product, lol. It doesn't lather, Just massage and rinse, but it cleans beautifully. I haven't been able to find it in the haircare aisle since. I started running low so I tried buying another no sulfate shampoo. It lathered more, but cleaned less than this did. For the first time in my life I've definitely been converted to a devout user of this product only - now lets just hope I can find it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Happy with This Product

PostedMarch 3, 2015
fromOH
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
I have seen all the commercials about the other "cleansing conditioner" product but just could not plunk down that amount of money for it. When I saw the Herbal Essences Cleansing Conditioner I immediately picked it up despite not having a coupon or it being on sale.
I am VERY pleased with this purchase. I have very fine, fragile, thinning hair and conditioners in and of themselves are like grease for me. And yet, I need some conditioning to avoid completely drying out my hair. I also have scalp reactions to many products after some time, so I have to constantly switch my 2-in-1 shampoo/conditioner.
This product not only conditioned my hair but gave it body and lift. It is not something I have to use daily - but can use a couple times a week to refresh and change up my products.
My 9 year old saw it and asked if it was "just like Wen"? I said yes, and SHE loves it too. She has incredibly thick hair and while we have to use a lot for her, it really put some bounce back in her hair, too. Awesome product!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Love the formula, HATE the smell.

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
fromHawks, MI
Age:17 or under
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
I have used wen, and to me this is just as good, except for one major flaw: the terrible smell. Although it leaves my hair feeling absolutely amazing, I cannot stand the smell, it gives me a terrible headache. It's really a bummer because I adore cleaning conditioners, but I won't be able to buy this again.
Also, if you are new to cleansing conditioners please read this. You have to use a lot. I have long hair and I have to use almost a full handful. Also, you have to scrub your hair and scalp because there are no bubbles doing it for you like shampoo. Finally, you have to rinse really well, or else your hair will be greasy. If you rinse really well and your hair still turns out greasy, you are not using enough. I know it seems like you would be using too much because it's a creamy product, but it's the opposite, you have to use a lot.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Herbal EssencesBy AmeliaConsumer RelationsFebruary 19, 2015
Hello Abby21,

I love that you love our Herbal Essences Naked Cleansing Conditioner. Still, I'm disappointed that our herbal mint fragrance didn't leave a pleasant impression on your nose! Fragrance preferences vary from person to person, so we know that not everything will be a "hit". In spite of that, we ended up making two different versions of the Cleansing Conditioner; the Naked and the Color Me Happy, which has a luscious rose scent; my favorite in our entire collection! I hope this solves your problem, Abby!

Amelia
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>