Customer reviews for cleansing conditioner

cleansing conditioner

Overall rating:
4.525 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(80 reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 80 reviews
5 Stars
63
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
72 out of 80(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for cleansing conditioner
Review 1 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Happy with This Product

PostedMarch 3, 2015
fromOH
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
I have seen all the commercials about the other "cleansing conditioner" product but just could not plunk down that amount of money for it. When I saw the Herbal Essences Cleansing Conditioner I immediately picked it up despite not having a coupon or it being on sale.
I am VERY pleased with this purchase. I have very fine, fragile, thinning hair and conditioners in and of themselves are like grease for me. And yet, I need some conditioning to avoid completely drying out my hair. I also have scalp reactions to many products after some time, so I have to constantly switch my 2-in-1 shampoo/conditioner.
This product not only conditioned my hair but gave it body and lift. It is not something I have to use daily - but can use a couple times a week to refresh and change up my products.
My 9 year old saw it and asked if it was "just like Wen"? I said yes, and SHE loves it too. She has incredibly thick hair and while we have to use a lot for her, it really put some bounce back in her hair, too. Awesome product!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Love the formula, HATE the smell.

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
fromHawks, MI
Age:17 or under
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
I have used wen, and to me this is just as good, except for one major flaw: the terrible smell. Although it leaves my hair feeling absolutely amazing, I cannot stand the smell, it gives me a terrible headache. It's really a bummer because I adore cleaning conditioners, but I won't be able to buy this again.
Also, if you are new to cleansing conditioners please read this. You have to use a lot. I have long hair and I have to use almost a full handful. Also, you have to scrub your hair and scalp because there are no bubbles doing it for you like shampoo. Finally, you have to rinse really well, or else your hair will be greasy. If you rinse really well and your hair still turns out greasy, you are not using enough. I know it seems like you would be using too much because it's a creamy product, but it's the opposite, you have to use a lot.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Herbal EssencesBy AmeliaConsumer RelationsFebruary 19, 2015
Hello Abby21,

I love that you love our Herbal Essences Naked Cleansing Conditioner. Still, I'm disappointed that our herbal mint fragrance didn't leave a pleasant impression on your nose! Fragrance preferences vary from person to person, so we know that not everything will be a "hit". In spite of that, we ended up making two different versions of the Cleansing Conditioner; the Naked and the Color Me Happy, which has a luscious rose scent; my favorite in our entire collection! I hope this solves your problem, Abby!

Amelia
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just Good As Wen!

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
fromAtlanta, GA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
I've tried every shampoo and conditioner out there, and still ended up with dry, frizzy hair.
This product leaves my hair clean, soft, shiny and smelling great. It also helps my color last a lot longer.
Highly recommend!
Please don't stop making this!! :)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Satisfied!

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
fromBoston, MA
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
I love how soft this makes my hair feel! It does a great job cleaning, as long as you rinse REALLY, really well... I have fine hair that gets weighed down easily, so if I don't go to town with rinsing, my scalp gets pretty greasy (which is something of a miracle because my curly hair is naturally very dry).
A lot of reviewers have mentioned that the scent bothers them, but I honestly love it. My boyfriend, on the other hand, says he can't even smell it at all, so I guess everyone interprets this scent pretty differently.
I do wish this cleansing conditioner was better at detangling, though - I have a pretty tough time combing my hair out after using this. However, I've noticed much less hair loss while combing, and my hair seems stronger and less damaged, so I can deal with it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Smells terrible!

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
fromTulsa, OK, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
I have never returned any kind of hair or beauty product before but after using this product one time I returned it the next day. This has such a strong smell, and not a pleasant one, that my husband and kids asked me to never use it again. My hair still smelled like this stuff the next day! If they would change the scent I would try it again but until then I won't repurchase this product.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Herbal EssencesBy KiaraConsumer RelationsFebruary 11, 2015
Hello hlc1978,
It is unfortunate that the refreshing mint fragrance of the Herbal Essences Naked Moisture Cleansing Conditioner was not pleasing to you. Fragrance is a personal preference, so not every scent will stimulate your senses. If you really enjoyed the cleansing conditioner, try the one in our Color Me Happy Line that features a fresh rose fragrance. I promise there are no thorns with this rose!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE this stuff....I am a believer!

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
fromBaltimore, MD, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
I was always interested in Wen but was too afraid to try it because it was WAY too expensive, especially with how much product I would need to use for my long thick hair. I found this on sale for $2.99 and just had to try it (Regularly $4.99-$6). I am so glad I took a chance.
It left my hair surprisingly clean, soft and smooth for 2 full days. Others have complained about the smell but I think this stuff smells amazing and it does stay with you all day (which I like). I would definitely recommend using this product and suggest that you cater the amount you use to the thickness and length of your hair. My hair is straight and about halfway down my back and thick. I used about 8-9 pumps for all of my hair and made sure to work it in really well and let it sit thru the rest of my shower before rinsing. Based on other reviews I made sure I washed ALL of the product out of my hair to ensure that it wouldn't leave it greasy or heavy and it worked.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE LOVE LOVE

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Please keep this on the shelf forever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great especially for transitioning hair or between relaxers

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Age:25 to 34
I've used this on my hair as I decide if I am going to go natural. It smoothes and makes my hair so soft. Blow drying and ironing after is a breeze and my hair gets shiny and straight.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Spoiled by the fragrance!

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
The idea is great and the product works well but if you are sensitive to fragrances this is not for you as in addition to being overpowering in the shower, it stays with you all day! It bears no resemblance to "mint" as the ad claims. I will never understand why manufacturers of hair products think they should have such powerful scents.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Herbal EssencesBy KiaraConsumer RelationsFebruary 11, 2015
Hello ladymabel,
I can understand your disappointment with the Herbal Essences Naked Moisture Cleansing Conditioner. It’s a great product that works well for you, if only it came in a different scent. Well, you’re in luck. We have a cleansing conditioner in our rose scented Color Me Happy line as well. Give it a try; I’m sure everything will be coming up roses after your first use!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My color doesn't fade anymore!

PostedDecember 30, 2014
fromAlton, IL, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
I am in love. Telling all of my friends. I no longer battle dandruff or greasy roots with fried ends. I torture my hair with lots of bleach and bright or pastel colors. This product lets me still have hair that feels silky and soft. AND it's not tested on animals!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

weighs down my hair

PostedDecember 4, 2014
fromNew York, NY, USA
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
I have very fine hair, but I have a lot of it. I have used Wen in the past and loved it, but it is very expensive and i figured this would be a good, cheap alternative. I find that this product is very nourishing and smells amazing and leaves my strands shiny and sleek, but unfortunately it is extremely hard to thoroughly rinse out which weighs my hair down. It also creates a lot of excess buildup, and I need to use a clarifying shampoo the next wash after using this product. Good idea, though!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very surprised - Excellent Product!!

PostedDecember 3, 2014
fromBrandon, MS, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
I've been a "Wen Girl" for close to 5 years now but I wanted to find something less expensive. I honestly didn't think I could find a product that would work as well in a drugstore - I was wrong!!! This is an excellent product - 4 pumps and my mid-length, super-baby-fine-hair is clean and tangle-free. It looks healthy and shiny AND it has not stripped my red color, which is huge! Red fades faster than any other color, that is why I started using Wen to begin with, to help my color stay longer, along with keeping it healthy. I have to say, Herbal Essences has definitely created a wonderful product - Thank you!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smooth non-frizzy non puffy hair!

PostedDecember 2, 2014
fromToledo, OH, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
I absolutely love this product! I was spending more than 5x the cost on a similar product and this is almost as good as that and beyond worth the savings! My only wish is that there were more scents to choose from! I have already posted my comparison results to all of my friends via social media and they are now believers too and have made the switch! Thank you Herbal Essence!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As good as Wen

PostedNovember 20, 2014
fromCroswell, MI
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
I used Wen for a few months this summer after sun, swimming, etc. My hair fell out in handfuls. I switched to Herbal Essence after searching for another "cleansing conditioner" product. My only gripe is its hard to find in my area. I've only found it at one store #Walgreens#. I would definitely recommend it. It is also a lot less expensive
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pleasant Surprise!

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
I purchased this product not knowing much about it. I just needed a conditioner and I tend to buy products that are "clean" (not volumizing, shine enhancing etc). My hair is straight and fine, but I have a lot of it. I loved this conditioner right from the start. My hair feels great! The first few applications I used it following HE shampoo, too scared to use it alone. I used it according to the directions today and WOW! It is amazing. The scent is wonderful and my hair feels clean, silky and weightless.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product cleans and conditions very well. Makes hair smell great.

PostedNovember 7, 2014
fromCentralia Mo
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
Cant say enough good things about the Naked Cleansing Conditioner. Got all my friends and my daughter to try it.They all agree it does a fantastic job. My daughter loves it for the fact...No flyaways! We always have had . to wash our hair almost every day. We both have oily scalp,our ends needless to say were getting trashed even with lots of conditioner.This stuff is as good or better than the WEN that I got as a gift last year.I couldn't afford that pricey product.A friend bought it over a TV add,and couldn't get it to stop being shipped to her house! So happy when I seen it on the shelf at Wal Mart.I also tried tried Pantene,it doesn't have the fantastic smell,and really I do think it does a better job):. Thank you for getting on the band wagon and manufacturing a cleansing conditioner.Chaz doesn't have anything over on you!! believe me.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the best stuff I've ever used on my hair from a regular store!!!!

PostedOctober 30, 2014
fromGreensboro, NC, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
I'm am so pleased with the product, I just can't tell you how happy I am about it! Number one, it's great to have a product that takes just one step and saves me time at night and in the mornings when I'm running late on time! It doesn't tear my hair up like the 2 in 1 shampoo and conditioner together combo bottle. I hate those with a passion! I only hope that Clairol will eventually make it in every flavor! Fabulous!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Contains dimethicone :(

PostedOctober 29, 2014
fromNew York, NY, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
I usually read the ingredients before buying a product I'd like to try but neglected to do so this time around. It wasn't until I was in the shower and had already started using the product when I looked at the ingredients.
There it was #8 or 9 on the list: Dimethicone
I was very disappointed. Because this is a cleansing co-wash I was extremely surprised by the presence of a non-water soluble silicone. It makes no sense to have it in a product that's meant to clean the hair. Because I do not use sulfate shampoos having this product in a co-was will eventually cause build-up.
Otherwise the product worked rather well. Unfortunately the dimethicone is a deal-breaker. So 3 stars because it worked well but I subtracted 2 for the silicone because it really shouldn't be in something that's designed as a cleansing conditioner.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The product smells great!

PostedOctober 26, 2014
fromChicago, IL, USA
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
This product is Amazing even better then Wen and cheaper. It is great for my fine hair makes it look healthy and less dull. PLEASE KEEP THIS PRODUCT!!!!! It only takes 3-4 pumps of product and then you work it into your hair. You can even use the product without a shampoo or conditioner does not leave hair greasy.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for cleansing conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST SHAMPOO ON EARTH

PostedOctober 24, 2014
fromFayetteville, AR, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
If I could award this product ten stars I would! I went to the store at ten o clock last night bc I couldn't bare to use regular shampoo and I had done the add water mix around thing twice. The first store was out and the second store was out. I got on here to make sure it wasn't being discontinued. I hope it never is... there will be riots.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>