Customer reviews for Herbal Essences dangerously straight pin straight shampoo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Herbal Essences.

Herbal Essences dangerously straight pin straight shampoo

i think it's better straight than never. you love your straight look and you'll do anything to keep it sleek. well, your locks will stay in line with the help of my lush formula fused with honeyed pear & silk that cleans and smoothes your hair. it's easy. get in line right here.
Overall rating:
3.963 / 5
4
 / 
5
(109 reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 109 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
36
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
7
1 Star
5
Customer reviews for dangerously straight pin straight shampoo
Review 81 for dangerously straight pin straight shampoo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It wore out for me!

PostedJanuary 26, 2009
fromKansas City
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've been using HE products for 10 years but been using this product ever since it came out - can't remember how long, a year??? But anyway, I have naturally wavy and thick hair. I'm in the midwest where it gets pretty humid in the summer. I've always had to use my straightener after blow drying. It did work really well in the fall/winter. Recently, it didn't do its job so I'm having to straighten it everyday!! I love the smell as well. Now, I'm trying out the Long Term Relationship product and its working quite well so far. I'm assuming Dangerously Straight is not working for me anymore :(
Pros: Straight Hair, Curly hair
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 82 for dangerously straight pin straight shampoo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good.

PostedJanuary 24, 2009
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
When I used this, it actually straightened my hair a bit. But, it didn't calm my frizz or anything. It smelled fantastic, but you still need to use anti-frizz products and a straightener or flatiron if you want your hair to be smooth and frizz-free.
Pros: Straight Hair
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 83 for dangerously straight pin straight shampoo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Did nothing

PostedJanuary 19, 2009
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this product expecting straight hair, but it did nothing. I have naturally wavy hair, and it stayed that way. The only positive thing I can say about this product is that it smelled amazing. Herbal Essences has amazing shampoos and conditioners, but this one did simply not work.
Pros: Straight Hair
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 84 for dangerously straight pin straight shampoo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost there

PostedDecember 25, 2008
fromWoodinville, WA
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I loved this shampoo. I just tried it yesterday. It does make my hair straighter. but not quiet enough where I wouldn't have to use my straightening iron. It smelled amazing, exactly like the 2 in 1. It works better then the 2 in 1 so I would buy the shampoo and conditioner separately.
Pros: Volume, Straight Hair, Oily hair, Dry hair, Color treated, thick, thin
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 85 for dangerously straight pin straight shampoo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good scent, but unsure of the rest.

PostedDecember 18, 2008
fromLong Beach, CA
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
After using Pantene for a couple years, I decided on a whim to switch to HE. The scent on this one is amazing, but I've found it doesn't really last on me (to be fair, I've yet to find a shampoo that sticks to my hair longer than the couple hours after a shower) but I couldn't really see the difference in hair texture. I have straight hair, but since my hair is shoulder length, it sorta curls at the bottom, and annoys me, so I was hoping that using this would make my hair stick straight, root to tip. It didn't really accomplish this...
To add to that, my hair started falling out in large clumps. I kinda knew it was the switch to HE that was probably killing my hair, but their whole line of shampoos have such good scents, I stuck it out and am now trying the Long Term Relationship duo to see if it really is HE, or if my hair just needs some time to adjust to new chemicals, or what not. Hope it's the latter!
Pros: Straight Hair
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 86 for dangerously straight pin straight shampoo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not The Best Purchase Ever

PostedDecember 8, 2008
fromNew York, NY
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
this didnt work too good, and i thought it would be better.
Oh well, hopefully i'll have better luck with a different product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 87 for dangerously straight pin straight shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZINGNESS!

PostedDecember 2, 2008
fromWhyDoUCare
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have straight hair, but sometimes I'll leave it in a ponytail etc. I will get a "kink" in my hair. But after using the the shampoo and conditioner I no longer get that. It is literally a miracle worker. I wear my hair down so much more now.
Pros: Straight Hair
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 88 for dangerously straight pin straight shampoo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't Do What It Claims!

PostedNovember 29, 2008
fromHonolulu, Hawaii
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My hair is stick straight, but I cut it, and now it's all kinky and wavy and I hate that. So I went out and bought the shampoo and conditioner then went home and hopped in the shower. It smells amazing, but that doesn't cover for it's poor performance. My hair wasn't much straighter, which what I was hoping for. I was pleased that it made my hair at the top, which I love, but it gave a lot of poofy, kinky, coarse body at the bottom. Overall, I do not recommend these products. I use them every once and awhile to restore the flat at the top, but I much prefer Hello Hydration.
Pros: Volume, Oily hair
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 89 for dangerously straight pin straight shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this stuff makes styling easier!

PostedNovember 25, 2008
frompickerington ohio
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i use this with the conditioner whenever i want my hair straightened. if you rinse and repeat with the shampoo, your hair will be easier to straightened. make sure you blow dry it. i recomend adding some of the none of your frizziness gell while your hairs still damp. oh yah, and if your is getting dried out, use the mousturizing conditioner with it for a couple of weeks. hope this was helpful! :}
Pros: Curly hair
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 90 for dangerously straight pin straight shampoo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I liked it

PostedNovember 20, 2008
fromFort Washington, MD
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
No it did not work miracles straightening my hair but if you have extremley curly frizzy hair like mine then the only way to really straighten your hair is to get it chemically relaxed or use a good straightening iron after blowing it out. This shampoo did however help to deal with the frizz and it did seem to straighten a little easier than usually while blow drying after using this shampoo. It also smells really nice.
Pros: Curly hair, Dry hair, straightening hair
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 91 for dangerously straight pin straight shampoo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's like any ordinary shampoo

PostedNovember 16, 2008
fromMy own little world
Fragrance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
To me, this shampoo is like any average shampoo. It doesn't straighten your hair, but it does help a bit with frizz and flyaways. I also think it's a bit too thick because I had some residue in my hair. It may have not worked for me well because I have curly hair, not straight hair. I also wouldn't recommend this if you have straight but fine and oily hair because it might be too thick for you. I like the color, though; it's pink, my favorite.
Pros: Straight Hair, frizzy/flyaway hair
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 92 for dangerously straight pin straight shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dnagerously Straight!

PostedNovember 14, 2008
Fragrance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this product is amazing!!! The scent is awesome & it work really well! I recommend this product if you want super straight hair!
Pros: wavy but you want straight hair
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 93 for dangerously straight pin straight shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally a product...

PostedNovember 13, 2008
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've finally found a product that actually does what is says on the bottle; both the shampoo and the conditioner. Living in the south with the high humidity, my hair tends to curl and frizz. Having striaght hair when the humidity is lower is natural for me. This product actually works fabulous keeping my straight hair straight during the humid days. It's a must if you live in a damper climate. Thank you for a wonderful product that REALLY does what it claims.
Pros: Straight Hair, Color treated
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 94 for dangerously straight pin straight shampoo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not The Best Shampoo

PostedNovember 7, 2008
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I tried the shampoo and conditioner hoping it would make my wavy hair a little straighter. It didnt. It actually made my hair a bit more dry! From the looks of it, this shampoo seems like it is for people with straight hair who want to keep it that way, so if you dont have straight hair I dont reccomend it. On the bright side the shampoo smelled really good.
Pros: Damage Repair, Straight Hair, Oily hair
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 95 for dangerously straight pin straight shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like it

PostedNovember 4, 2008
fromOrangeburg, NY
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I thought it was just named Dangerously straight. My hair is naturally wavy and I hate it. I like my hair straight. When I saw the commercial for the shampoo and conditioner. I thought it wouldn't work, but when I saw the video for straight hair. I saw how it really made a difference. So I bought it. The first time I used it, it made my hair straighter and shiny. I love this product and will still be using along with my other Herbal Essences products. I love Herbal Essences!!!!
Pros: Damage Repair, Straight Hair, Curly hair, Dry hair, wavy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 96 for dangerously straight pin straight shampoo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Total waste of money

PostedOctober 25, 2008
Fragrance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is a review from a 2007-year use. If you have curly hair, this is NOT the collection for you. I tried to make my hair straight in 2007, but it just made it in even worse condition. My hair looked really poofy after straightening it. After awhile, I just had to stop straightening it because it was so dry. But as far as cleanliness goes, it cleans pretty well. I recommend this for people with straight hair but want to keep it straight. People should know that a straight-hair product will NOT straighten your hair! Trust me, I learned all this the hard way!
Pros: Straight Hair
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 97 for dangerously straight pin straight shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Astonishing Aquirement

PostedOctober 23, 2008
fromCurwensville, PA
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't believe how straight and shiny my hair is!
Pros: Damage Repair, Straight Hair, Curly hair, Dry hair, Color treated, frizzy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 98 for dangerously straight pin straight shampoo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nothing at all

PostedOctober 17, 2008
fromVirginia
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have straight hair, and I thought that because this is designed for straight hair, that it would kind of add some shine to my hair. It didn't really do anything, but as far a cleanliness goes, it's pretty good. I also felt like it was weighing my hair down too much, so I wouldn't recommend you use this if you have fine hair that you want thicker.
Pros: Straight Hair, hair that you want to keep the same
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 99 for dangerously straight pin straight shampoo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smoothes

PostedOctober 13, 2008
fromJasper, GA
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this shampoo is great for taming dry, fly - away hair in the winter. It is very moisturizing. I cannot use during the summer, makes my hair oily. But it is great for the cold/dry months.
Pros: Straight Hair, Dry hair, Color treated
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 100 for dangerously straight pin straight shampoo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Doesn't live up to the name

PostedOctober 5, 2008
fromUtah
Fragrance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Okay, so i have like wicked wavy and long hair but i think it looks better when it's straight. so like i went to the store and thought it would really work. well.....it didn't. i took a shower that night and a few minutes later it had already started to get wavy! i mean, my hair smelled really good but the shampoo and conditioner didn't make my hair any straighter. i think to get the full effect of the product you have to blow dry and flat-iron after showering. who has time for that??? on the up side it smelled reeeeeaaaal nice :)
Pros: Straight Hair
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>